Create an Account

You must be signed into an account to save your search.

Create an Account

Already Have One? Sign In Now

Reviews

We'd love to hear what you think. Please take a moment to share your experience with our company.

Write a Review

Tell Us How We Did!

by Christine Woodward

Oct 7, 2020

We decided to buy a vacation house in the mountains and had the pleasure to work with Jonathan Bradley. He was awesome! He not only helped us figure out what location would be best for us, he took the time to understand our needs for the home, was quick to sort through the market and set up home tours for us. We live 2 1/2 hours away from the mountains, so Jonathan ensured every trip up was the best use of our time and he was able to answer all our questions so we could make the best decision for our family. We closed last week on our new home and we couldn't be happier! Thanks Jonathan we couldn't have done it without you!

by Todd and Kathy Mansfield

Oct 1, 2020

We have had the great fortune of working with Kim Hurley and Ashe High Country Realty on our property in Todd. Not only do we commend Kim for her expertise in evaluating the market, effective marketing of the property, professionalism and hard work, but also for going and beyond in helping us. We have purchased and sold a number of homes over the years and know that we found the gold standard in Kim Hurley. We highly recommend Kim and will certainly work with her again in the future when the need arises.

by Billy and Crystal Peele

Jul 20, 2020

by Chris & Glenda Lewis

May 5, 2020

Our time with Kim was somewhat brief as we had been privately looking for a couple of years when we ran across one of her listings. From the 1st phone contact to closing day our time with her was informative, professional and most enjoyable. We felt like family from the beginning and all of her ideas, contractor references & follow up were 'spot-on' & timely. THANKS for a great experience !

by Tom and Sarah Ormand

Apr 29, 2020

We would highly recommend Cindy Wiehrs with Ashe High Country Realty. She was very attentive to our needs and detail oriented. She spent a lot of time explaining the entire process and made sure we were comfortable before we signed any paperwork. Cindy did a wonderful job taking pictures and creating a layout for the MLS. She also was aggressive with bringing potential buyers to view our cabin and sold it in 2 weeks. Cindy was quick to respond any time we had questions. We consider Cindy an excellent real estate professional.

by Frank & Karen DeMarco

Mar 3, 2020

Jerrita was extremely cordial and very professional. She made the entire buying process almost care-free. She catered to our needs and had the patience of a saint in transporting us around from property to property over several weekends. She listened attentively and focused on our needs which resulted in finding a house that not only met our needs but surpassed our expectations. In our opinion she has real estate knowledge and acumen second to none. She has raised the bar in her profession and will be a tough act to follow. Ashe High Country Realty is very fortunate to have her on their team. We consider her a good friend!

by Mike & Donna French

Mar 3, 2020

My wife and I recently purchased a second home in West Jefferson. We worked with Michelle Handler for several months on this process. Michelle is a consummate professional and is both patient and knowledgeable. Michelle's years of experience and guidance helped us find the perfect home for us. She kept us informed of purchase opportunities and information we would need to make a sound decision. Michelle supported us thru the entire process as if she were buying the home herself. We not only purchased a new home, we made a wonderful friend in the process. We give Michelle our highest recommendation!!

by Debbie

Nov 30, 2019

I have only good things to say about Jerrita and Ashe High Country Realty. Jerrita was always quick to get back to me and very professional yet very friendly. We will rent now through them to continue our visits to Ashe County!

by Neil and Ann Carbaugh

Nov 15, 2019

When we made the decision to look for an investment property in the High Country, we found Kim Hurley, and we are so glad that we did! From day one she made us feel very comfortable. Kim is very knowledgeable about the area and after 8 months of unselfishly giving up many of her Sundays, helped us find the perfect home. From signing the contract to the closing, she made everything so easy. Kim scheduled the inspections and communicated with our lender to ensure that we would close on time. She is truly the best that we have ever dealt with and she genuinely cares about her clients. Not only did we hire a fantastic realtor, we made a great friend!

by John Carpino

Oct 8, 2019

Management, I listed and sold my home in Laurel Springs with your agent, Kim Hurley. Kim explained every step to us in this process. Including great feedback and constant communication, often with suggestions. She explained the steps from sign up and curb appeal suggestions, to contract, the negotiations process and right to closing. We sold our home in a better than an expected time frame with very satisfying results. Your agent exceeded our expectations in every way and is truly professional in her craft. 10/08/19 John and Lori Carpino

by Mechille Reavis

Oct 2, 2019

Lori Eastridge with Ashe High Country Realty is the best to work with. She was very honest and helpful in the sale of our home. She was the 3rd realtor in the county that we had worked with and she out shined in the whole process.

by Richard Hicks

Sep 18, 2019

Greg Johnson was a pleasure to work with on the purchase of our home in Newland. I would highly recommend him to anyone looking to buy a home in the area. He has called several times since the sale to make sure everything is ok.

by Lisa Bean

Sep 4, 2019

This was our first venture into the "second home market" and Kim Hurley was amazing. She was referred by a friend in the mortgage business, and we hit it off with her right away. Kim was absolutely committed to representing our wishes and needs. When we emailed her, she responded within 30 minutes-unfailingly. When we called her, she answered her phone. We have bought and sold six houses over the years and have dealt with many Realtors, and we know a good one when we find one. Since we were new to the area, Kim was also helpful with local recommendations from painters to restaurants. We were very pleased with Kim and will be calling her for our next mountain home purchase!

by Fred Hain

Jul 15, 2019

What was great about Jerrita was that she quickly understood what we were looking for and found the perfect place for us. She was professional and friendly. She also sold a tract of land we had in Ashe county. Could not have been a better experience.

by Barbara Detweiler

Jul 8, 2019

Very professional at all times, but yet fun to work with and makes everyone relaxed and knowledgeable about most everything ONE could ask about a house. Pretty smart Lady! Kept us informed , kept us calm and made us feel that WE were Her Only customer. Love this woman and now have Her selling our other house. Trust her, and follow her advise.

by Robert Older

Jul 3, 2019

Jerrita was superb to work with both as our rental agent and later as our sales agent. Her write ups were great as were the pictures she used. Jerrita was easy to reach and very pleasant to work with. We would definitely work with her again. Bob and Linda Older

by Barbara Detweiler

Jul 2, 2019

Truly an asset to your Company! She's 1-in a million for so many reasons.. her dedication to our vision of selling our home and purchasing another home ( our Dream home) She's trustworthy... professional.. dedicated.. and FUN to work with!!! She a shark for us .. love this Saleswoman.... She is always looking out for our best in!!!

by Mike Hannan

Jun 8, 2019

Greg was extremely helpful to my wife and I from the start to the finish of our home Listing and Selling Process. We always found Greg to be reliable, trustworthy, and a good listener while also being pleasant and courteous. He does what he says and says what he does, a trait I value in any relationship. Throughout the entire process we felt Greg had our best interests in mind and I would recommend him to friends or family without reservation. We will use Greg again for our next NC or VA High Country Real Estate Professional Services needs.

by Sharon & King Spainhour

Apr 11, 2019

We've known Michelle for 13 years. She has helped us sell two houses and buy a house. We highly recommend Michelle. She is very knowledgeable, professional, and caring. She has strong negotiating and interaction personal skills. She has a way of managing to calm down a situation in contract negotiations. We highly recommend Michelle for a buyer or seller agent. Five stars for Michelle.

by Liz Washburn

Apr 8, 2019

Greg Johnson is knowledgable and professional and worked to best meet our needs, in terms of finding a home that would be suitable for a couple close to retirement age. He has a pleasant, relaxed manner and is knowledgable about the West Jefferson area as well as experienced in the logistics of the home-buying process.

by Alex Hopkins

Apr 7, 2019

We really appreciated working with Greg Johnson on our real estate purchase in Lansing NC. He helped us find a home that fit most of our wants and needs. He has immeasurable experience in the local communities. I would highly recommend him to friends and family!

by Whitney Harbison

Apr 1, 2019

Lori was wonderful to work with! I highly recommend her as a realtor. She was very friendly, helpful, and responsive to our needs and phone calls. She helped us purchase a home we didn't know we could find! With being new to the area, it was great to find someone like Lori to help us through this process.

by Lonnie and Denise Pittman

Mar 20, 2019

We would highly recommend Greg Johnson as a realtor. From our first meeting with Greg, hiring him to be our realtor was an easy decision even though our property was in a neighboring county. From the beginning of our relationship, Greg was professional yet very personable. He listened to our opinions and how we saw the sale of our home progressing, but guided us to the more beneficial decisions based on the real estate market. We phoned Greg both during the week and the weekend, all times of the day and evening, and he was always available to assist us. He was in contact with us frequently to keep us informed. He helped us from the first day of the marketing process through the signing of the contract. Greg Johnson made a difficult process for us as sellers as easy as possible. We would readily hire him for any future real estate transactions!

by Lucy and Steve Wheeless

Feb 27, 2019

Kim was such a pleasure to work with on our purchase in West Jefferson. She made our experience very enjoyable and she was so knowledgeable and thorough in every aspect of the transaction!! Lucy and I would highly recommend Kim to anyone looking for real estate in the Ash County area!! Thank you Kim Hurley, we have gained a new friend!!

by Jo Friedheim

Feb 20, 2019

Maxine Lane was great. She handled everything in a professional way, making it seem easy, when I know it often was not. I would recommend Maxine to anyone looking for an agent.

by Sue

Jan 16, 2019

Thank you Suzanne for all your assistance. You have been ever so kind and patient with us. Always willing to help. We are truely greatfull to you. I can highly reccommed Suzanne as your Realtor.

by Richard Wall

Dec 22, 2018

Our experience working with Lori was great and fun. She is very knowledgeable about the Ashe County area. I would recommend to anyone looking for a realtor to reach out to her for help with their purchase.

by Luellen and Greg Hining

Dec 20, 2018

We could not ask for more professional agents. Both Cindy Wiehrs were an absolute pleasure to work with! They kept us informed through the whole process of selling our home. They were extremely knowledgeable! We highly recommend these ladies for any of your real estate needs.

by Frank Church

Dec 4, 2018

I had an Excellent and Successful experience with this company selling 10 acres of land. I would highly recommend Ashe High Country Realty for Sale or Purchase of property!

by Katherine and Herbert Witt

Nov 30, 2018

Sophia and Michelle we're an absolute pleasure to work with. Both women worked diligently with us to complete the listing and sale of our home. The communication was phenomenal between Sophia and Michelle with one or the other, if not both ,calling/emailing keeping us updated all the way through the selling process. Ladies we cannot thank you both enough for all of your hard work.

by Lee Stallings

Nov 26, 2018

I have had the pleasure of working with Kim Hurley for more than 10 years, as both a buyer and a seller. Always upbeat, Kim is thorough and proactive, knowledgeable and experienced. She doesn't let anything "fall through the cracks", and truly has her client's best interests in mind. Kim has been more than just a real estate agent. She has become a good friend. I would highly recommend Kim Hurley to represent anyone in a real estate transaction, without reservation.

by Mitchell Taylor

Oct 28, 2018

Very nice experience working with AHCR. Offered helpful advice up front before contract. Professional and friendly. The folks at AHCR really took care of all the details involved with the process. Thanks for taking care of our reality needs.

by Charles Whtiman

Oct 18, 2018

Very thorough Agent! Excellent Service.

by Brandi Bennett

Oct 11, 2018

We worked with Jerrita. She was with us every step of the way. She had patience with us in looking, exploring and visiting houses, including the one we purchased. We visited it 2 or 3 times before making the final decision. She was able to answer any questions we had, quickly. I am thankful we had Jerrita as our realtor. She even went out of her way and allowed us to borrow some equipment for our new house. Definitely made purchasing a house a breeze for us! We highly recommend her!

by Jack McGill

Sep 25, 2018

I just closed on a house the other day working with Mark Bower. His experience with home construction and knowledge of the Ash County area was so helpfull to me relocating from the Charlotte area. Mark happened to pick up the phone when I called back in May and since then I’ve went into three contracts 2 of which I declined because of issues that came up at inspection. Mark spent a lot of time with me and made it enjoyable at the same time steering me in the right direction, advising me and not giving up when I had to go back and search for homes. Im really glad I got to work with him and will continue to stay in touch with. Thank you, Jack McGill

by Joy Cothran

Sep 25, 2018

Lori with Ashe High Country Realty has been wonderful to work with. My job requires me to be out of town a lot and Lori kept me up to date on all the latest listings, and actually went to some and made videos so I could see the inside since I was unable to get there in person. She knew the market and knew how quickly things sold and didn’t want me to miss an opportunity. When I found my house and started the mortgage process, she guided me every step of the way since I was out of town on contract. Lori was my advocate and stood up for my interest. She handled inspections and estimates for repairs. I trusted her and followed her advice, and yesterday closed on the perfect home for me. She went above and beyond my expectations and I can unequivocally recommend her.

by Chanda Griggs

Sep 24, 2018

Lori Easrridge is amazing! She traipsed all over N.C with us, hiked properties in the rain, and recommended ones we hadn't found based on our preferences. She kept in constant contact leaving us feeling like we were her only clients. She explained everything, including what our lender should have explained. I can't say enough to really tell how much we enjoyed working with her. I will recommend her to anyone looking for property. Many thanks to her and Ashe High Country Realty.

by Wendy Waring

Sep 19, 2018

Rita Perry Spicer was fabulous! I was an out-of-town buyer, which made everything a little more complicated and stressful. I couldn’t just drop what I was doing and drive 3 hours every time a house came on the market I wanted to see, or look at/handle things once I decided on a cabin. Rita was there for me every step of the way. She was patient while I was trying to decide on a home. She took pictures and previewed homes for me. She had everything organized when I came to town so we could see all the homes that interested me in one day. Once I found a cabin, I didn’t have to come back until closing. Rita handled coordinating all the inspections and due diligence items. She helped me understand the inspection report and negotiate repairs. She worked with my lender to provide the documents they needed. She kept things moving and made sure I did the things I needed to do. And she handled a few bumps in the road, such as having to extend the closing date. I couldn’t have made it through the process without Rita. She was a godsend. If you need a realtor, I highly recommend Rita and Ashe High Country Realty.

by Kerry Skara

Sep 5, 2018

Jerrita helped us look at numerous houses before we finally found "the one." Her knowledge of the area, the buying and renting market, what repairs might cost, and her contacts are amazing. My mom was a Realtor, so I am not easily impressed, but Jerrita sure knows her stuff!

by JAKE RUS

Sep 3, 2018

Jerrita handled the sale of our cabin in Ashe county last year and did an excellent job. So of course we continued to use her services when we were looking for another property. We kept changing our minds as to what we were looking for as well as area. From cabins to single family to condos, in Ashe, Watauga and eventually Avery county which is where we finally bought. She is very professional, patient and reliable. We highly recommend her and the Company.

by Art & Lavena Moe

Aug 5, 2018

Very helpful. Would recommend again.Lori Eastridge went above and beyond when we were buying our house. . She always kept us informed about what was going on

by Ted Rogers

Jul 28, 2018

We purchased our place ~6 years ago through Michelle and Ashe High Country Realty. It was to be our long weekend get-away and future retirement home. Like life, retirement dreams/plans also change but we knew we wanted Michelle and Ashe High Country Realty to now handle the selling of our place. From first listing the property to completing the final paperwork at closing, total time was about five weeks. We still love everything about that area. When retirement actually happens, we will be contacting Michelle and Ashe High Country Realty first.

by Dan & Rosemary Lester

Jul 4, 2018

Kim Hurley was our agent when we sold our home in Ashe county. She was very professional, efficient, timely, and above all, she was always looking out for our best interest. We live in south Florida and Kim took on the responsibility of handling three separate incidents that needed immediate attention. From our home in Florida we were unable to deal with them, but Kim stepped up and successfully handled each one in a very timely fashion. We feel we would not have sold our home as quickly as we did except for the diligence of Kim doing whatever had to be done. Our evening updates from her were always a welcomed reassurance. In choosing an agent as our realtor, we interviewed three candidates. We chose Kim and are now forever grateful that we did so. If you need a great realtor, mine as well get the best .... choose Kim.

by John vinci

Jul 3, 2018

They know the area well listen to what we were looking for . They let us know of a cabin that was coming on to the mkt before it was even listed. My wife and I Were able to make a offer the first day it was listed. They worked with us and negotiated a good price for us.

by Michael and Jaime Smith

Jul 2, 2018

We have worked with Jerrita Roark for many years through buying, renting, and selling. She is wonderful, always working for her clients, and a true asset! We couldn't be happier with the service we have received from Jerrita and Ashe High Country Realty

by Gary Grindrod

Jun 30, 2018

We had a great experience from beginning to end. Jerrita was unbelievably patient with us as our preferences evolved and never put any pressure on us. We ended up with the log cabin of our dreams and never would have gotten there without her. THANKS

by Bob Schindler

Jun 13, 2018

We just closed on our new home in Lansing, Kim Hurley is our realtor and she is just outstanding, couldn't have asked for more. She met all our expectations and then exceeded them with being proactive, responsive and all around on top of our purchase process. Can't say enough good things about Kim and the service we received, this was the simplest buy we've had yet as everything fell together like clockwork. Kim is more than a realtor and now a friend that we have in the area. thanks

by Kelly Hoover

May 22, 2018

I worked with Michelle Handler over a three-month span of time. She was 100% professional, patient, and very knowledgeable about the area. I would highly recommend Michelle to anyone who is searching for a home in the High Country.

by David and Cindy Martin

May 14, 2018

When we first met Suzanne she treated us as if she had known us for all our lives. We were looking for a property we couldn’t find and she dropped everything to come help us. After that we wanted her for our realtor. She was very patient and very helpful. See we didn’t know anything about what we were supposed to do. After a few property searches she found us the perfect one. She was always available when we needed her and she lead us through the whole process. I think we were blessed to find someone as excited for us as we were for ourselves. Thank you Suzanne from the bottom of our hearts.

by Daniela

May 9, 2018

errita did a great job and made my move to Ashe county a piece of cake! I received a timely support on all the steps and great advices from Jerrita, she was able right away to catch what I wanted so we were able to focus effectively on the house of my dream. In just 5 weeks we were able to find the house and get the closing done, she explained me every step of the process (I am a foreigner so I was not familiar with the US process). Jerrita enthusiasm and professional attitude were key to get the job done. Strongly recommended.

by Angela wyatt

May 9, 2018

My agent was Jerritta , she went way above what she was supposed to do. She was always right there for my questions and help the closing process go smoothly and even came by the day I was moving in to check on me . If you are looking for a real estate agent I highly recommend this one

by Theresa and Scott Kimball

Apr 26, 2018

We could not have found a better real estate company and Realtor. Greg found us our perfect piece of property on the first day and continued to work very hard for us to have our dream retirement property. Thank you Terry and Scott Kimball

by John Houston

Apr 12, 2018

It was a pleasure working with Kim Hurley. She was AWESOME! She handled everything , from start to finish. If you are looking to buy or sell your home, I recommend Kim Hurley. John

by Keith and Laura Watkins

Apr 3, 2018

Our experience finding our piece of heaven was the best because of Greg Johnson. He was willing to answer all questions (no matter how small) and assist throughout the process in finding our new home. He was very patient on the long days of showing us houses, even the day there was a flooding rain we had to deal with. He was willing to research anything we asked and took the time to search out owners to ask about property adjoining properties we were interested in. This was by far the best experience we could have ever hoped for and it was because of Greg. We will be keeping in touch with him as now he is a friend and not just an agent.

by Hassell Priddy

Mar 29, 2018

Mark and Michelle were great to work with. They very efficiently listed our home and sold it. They were very professional and kind. That means a lot to us. Hassell& Carol Ann Priddy.

by Hatch & Sue Bryan

Mar 20, 2018

Where do we start???? In 2008, we called five different realtors in Ashe County and left messages that we were interested in buying a house. Only one returned our call. Kim Hurley was the one that did return our call. I informed Kim that we would be coming up and if I remember correctly she cancelled personal appointments to meet with us. We rode and looked for three days!! Not once did she ever seem to tire of us. After those three days, we returned to the coast only to return in a couple of weeks. This trip was a success!! We found our dream vacation home. Kim has gone above and beyond her duty . Not only did she become our realtor, she has become a lifelong friend. We would trust KIm in any aspect of our lives. I believe Kim is one of the sweetest, most genuine people we have ever met. I'm sure we will miss our Ashe County home but I think we will miss our friends there even more. So in short, I would like to say "we love you Kim" and will continue to refer our friends your way!! Oops, can't forget Maxine!! Maxine has always been such a pleasure to talk to at the front desk. She has always been so friendly, kind and helpful too. You have some valuable employees at Ashe High Country Realty!! Thanks to everyone there for anything you did for us.

by Steve B.

Dec 27, 2017

We had Kim Hurley assist us with a search for a riverfront home. She was amazingly patient with us as we looked at about a dozen homes. But more important than that, she was very honest with us throughout the search. It made us feel like we had an advocate and not just someone who was just trying to sell us a house. And now we have our awesome riverfront home on the New. Thank you Kim for everything!

by Dorothy and Randall Snyder

Dec 23, 2017

Many thanks to Sophia (Lopez) for all of her help in finding and closing the deal on our perfect 2nd home in the mountains. Sophia has a great eye for value and is a knowledgeable and skilled realtor. We never felt pressured. Throughout the process Sophia responded quickly to all of our communications, coordinated all of the last minute inspections, and helped overcome a few last minute hurdles to ensure that we were able to close on time. . We would gladly work with Sophia again.

by Jonathan Bradley

Dec 22, 2017

Kim Hurley is an attentive and knowledgeable agent. She helped us find the perfect home and guided us through the purchase and closing process with great skill!

by Ted Hull

Dec 19, 2017

Kim Hurley is an excellent realtor who stayed with us throughout our two year quest to find the perfect second home, walking us through every detail of the process and making sure that everything was covered. Would definitely recommend Kim.

by The Smith's

Oct 28, 2017

We recently closed on a piece of land. What a wonderful experience. We absolutely love the area, and the more we visited, we loved it even more. We highly recommend Ashe High Country Realty.

by Nicole

Oct 13, 2017

Morgan is very knowledgeable and performs as a seasoned realtor. She is very prompt with communication and very organized. She is very detailed oriented and made sure that we had all of the information needed for me to make an informed decision. She is very warm and sweet and treats you as if you are her only customer. I highly recommend her to anyone.

by Steve

Oct 6, 2017

Excellent service. Michelle and Mark have extensive experience, and many contacts. The company advertised widely. Those agents have complementary skill and work well together.

by MB & Brandon

Sep 26, 2017

We can not thank Sophia enough for her help in finding our mountain home. She was Highly Responsive which means a lot with our busy lives. Sophia made finding a mountain home so efficient by keeping our wants and needs at the forefront of her mind while also giving us her true and honest option on each home. We enjoyed working with her and definitely recommend her to anyone interested in purchasing a home in Ashe County.

by Rick Dynesius

Sep 5, 2017

Cindy has been a terrific representative of Ashe High Country as well as our representative. Her work on marketing our cabin through her staging,photographing and presentation set forth an excellent showing of our cabin.. it sold quickly. Her professionalism in presenting our cabin was well above expectations

by Mike and Carla Michaels

Sep 3, 2017

My wife and I feel truly blessed to have worked with Kim Hurley on the recent purchase of our house in Stonebridge. Kim is a true “people person,” and her knowledge of the intricacies and idiosyncrasies of the Ashe County real estate market is unsurpassed. Energetic and proactive, Kim successfully resolved several time-sensitive issues regarding our property, keeping us fully informed at all times during the process. Kim did an absolutely superb job as our agent, and I would recommend her without reservation to anyone seeking property in the Ashe County area. Thanks for everything Kim!

by Donna

Aug 24, 2017

Jerrita did an excellent job in selling our mountain cabin for us. Her commitment to obtaining a buyer for us was diligent. I would highly recommend her in either selling or buying a home in the Ashe county area. She was also very knowledgeable about the area and service people if you needed them. Thanks, Jerrita for finding a buyer who loves our home (now their home)!

by The Blocks

Aug 20, 2017

We feel totally blessed to have had Jerrita Roark as our realtor. She was so informative, so knowledgeable so professional and so incredibly patient. She was always a phone call away. We could not have been more pleased. Do not think we would have found our new home without her.

by Meneika Cooke

Aug 15, 2017

I couldn't believe how smoothly everything went. Jerrita made it simple for me to sign documents on line and the closing took just minutes. I will recommend you to anyone that I know who is looking to buy or rent in Ashe County.

by Todd Sherrill

Aug 8, 2017

Thanks to Jerrita we have now found complete happiness in the mountains of Ashe County. We lived several hours away and Jerrita lined up several homes for us to view while in the area. Turns out we purchased the first home she showed us and we couldn't be any happier. She was very helpful throughout the whole process from beginning to end. She was knowledgeable of the home, neighborhood and area and was very helpful in arranging inspections, quick to respond and patient with all our questions. Thanks Jeritta for a job well done!

by NATALIE

Aug 7, 2017

Jerrita was wonderful. We recommend her to anyone looking for property in the area. She spent a couple of Sundays showing us around and made herself available around our schedule. We thoroughly loved working with her. WE appreciate all her advice and information about the area.. Thank You Jerrita for all your help.

by Steve Capps

Aug 5, 2017

We had a fantastic experience with Kim. We worked with her on and off for a year before we found the right property for us. She was patient, extremely knowledgable and helpful as we moved from contract matters to inspections, repairs and the closing.. Her follow up and follow through are exemplary; she is consummate professional and we highly recommend her to others looking for a home in the area.

by Kriss Dinkins

Aug 4, 2017

Michelle Handler is passionate about her work. Michelle always takes great care of Stephan and me when we are making real estate decisions. Michelle has helped us with two home purchases, one home sale, and one land purchase. We highly recommend Michelle .

by Charlotte rhyne

Aug 3, 2017

Jerrita is the best realtor I have ever worked with. She is passionate about getting your house sold. She services your every need, and goes above and beyond the call of duty.

by Clinton & Brenda Pressley

Aug 2, 2017

We had worked with Jerrita Roark before so we knew what a knowledgeable agent she is so there was no question who to list our cabin with when we were ready to sell . I would not hesitate to recommend Jerrita to anyone. looking to buy or sell a home she is very personable and knowledgeable . "Great company and wonderful Agent/Person" Cliton & Brenda Pressley

by Cathy Cooksley

Aug 2, 2017

The sale of our acreage went very smoothly. Rita did a great job of keeping us informed along the way. Will definitely use these great people again!

by Josh Rountree

Jul 26, 2017

We have nothing but good things to say about Kim. She was great through all stages of the process. She helped us figure out our offering price, negotiating counter offers, and working through all the due diligence. She had great recommendations for local companies to do inspections and took care of anything we needed her to. In addition to all of this, her communication was excellent - she always responded when we had a question and kept us up to date. I would highly recommend her to anyone looking to buy property.

by Harry Tueting

Jul 17, 2017

Cindy Wiehr did a wonderful job of keeping our needs in mind and finding us a cottage that works perfectly for our family. We live three hours away from Stonebridge, and she took care of arranging all the closing details, making it very simple for us. I would easily recommend her to anyone that wanted to purchase a property in Ashe County, NC. Thanks Cindy! We love the cottage!!!!

by Beverly and Keith Shaver

Jul 13, 2017

We have worked with a number of real estate agents and we must say that our recent experience was wonderful. Cindy Wiehrs thought of everything and provided what we needed when we needed it. She is a true professional who made selling our cabin seem easy while keeping us updated all the way.

by Jennifer & Landon Watkins

Jun 21, 2017

We recently closed on our very own little "slice of Heaven on Earth"!! We are so excited to make memories with our 3 young boys!! We began looking about a year and a half ago with Cindy Wheir at Ashe High Country Realty, she was so available and so patient with us as we made our journey through what seemed like hundreds of homes(even though it was a bit less lol) She even had patience when we ended up having to bring all 3 of our boys on some of the showings!! She volunteered to keep an "eye" on them while my husband and I had some quiet time to explore the properties. She was very detail oriented and was able to navigate us through the usual "hiccups" that can come along with negotiating and buying a new home. We are forever greatful for her help, her willingness to stick by us and keep us posted as new properties came available eventually led us to our very own special place. Thanks Cindy for what you did for us, and thanks for what you did for our growing family! The porch is always open with a seat for you !

by Lee Herbert

Jun 20, 2017

I found Michelle and Mark to be totally professional. They did a good job of marketing my home and were able to sell it earlier than I had expected. They were very helpful during the negotiating phase and were able to gracefully overcome the challenges the buyers presented. I was very pleased to have them represent me.

by Terrence Burns

Jun 13, 2017

We worked with Ashe High Country Realty to purchase our Stonebridge cabin back in 2008, and they also helped us sell it this year. We have nothing but praise for Viv, Cindy and the team - they are true professionals. But more important than that, they are wonderful people. Thanks for everything!

by Dr. Jon M. Martin

May 30, 2017

I worked with Michelle Handler to find a property in Ashe County......and found a great deal on a good location/site. Had it not been for Michelle's thoroughness, and after hours of efficient looking her saying, "I know we've seen a lot of land, but there is ONE more neighborhood I'd like for you to see", we would have never seen or found the lot that I wound up purchasing : ). My experience with Michelle and with Ashe High Country Realty was excellent. : ) - Dr. Jon M. Martin, Durham NC

by Dennis and Pam Anderson

May 29, 2017

Our transition from West Virginia to NC was easy because of Greg’s professionalism, integrity and attention to detail. He continually kept us informed not only as we searched for a house but also, and more importantly, when we found the right one. We would highly recommend Ashe High Country Realty and Greg Johnson to anyone looking to buy or sell a house.

by Philip & Anna Voida

May 18, 2017

We really didn't make it easy for Rita Spicer-Perry and Ashe High Country to make our dream come true. We had an out-of-state sale, multiple properties, all kinds of exceptions to the banking rules and estates for sale with multiple interested parties and complicated land divisions. But Rita and team came thru with shining colors, unflagging enthusiasm and total professionalism. I would recommend them to anyone and especially out-of-state buyers, Rita and team really go above and beyond! Thanks Rita!

by Bryan and Pam Lanier

Apr 17, 2017

Having just sold our home today we are so appreciative of both Michelle and Maxine in making this happen .....We have enjoyed working with them and now consider them our good friends.....can't say enough about the two of them........the hard work and dedication on their side to both Seller and Buyer is to be commended.....Thanks you guys!

by Anna

Apr 17, 2017

We were selling a cabin and Rita was AWESOME every step of the way. We are out of state which presented difficulties. Rita hooked us up with great local people to get repairs done, etc. She was ENORMOUSLY helpful . This is the first time I have sold a home and Rita walked us through the process. She is so kind and caring, can't sing her praises enough!

by Josh & Sarah Cook

Mar 30, 2017

Cannot say enough good things about Morgan! She was so great to work with and was very committed to finding us the perfect home. We saw several homes throughout the process; she was great at keeping in touch with us and showing us new listings. She is very professional and made this process so much easier, we highly recommend working with her!

by Margi Ludwig

Mar 22, 2017

Michelle was great to work with. We were 200 miles away and looking for a vacation home in West Jefferson. She came recommended by a friend and am so glad we found her. Everything was handled efficiently and professionally and we couldn't be happier in our new home.

by Sharon & King Spainhour

Feb 12, 2017

In 2006 Michelle Handler listed and sold our house in VA. She was very professional, timely and knowledgeable. We recently decided to buy a house in West Jefferson, NC and Michelle found the perfect house for us. It has been a pleasure working with Michelle. Over the years we have worked with many different agents. Michelle is at the top of the list. She is simply the best!!! She is very smart, trustworthy, knows her business and gets things accomplished very quickly. We highly recommend Michelle Handler. Thank you Michelle for all you have done for us.

by Kelli Hefner

Feb 11, 2017

Cindy was wonderful to work with. She sold our cabin in Ashe county and helped us purchase new home in Ashe county as well. We couldn't have done it without her. Her expertise and knowledge of this specialized market was spot on. She was informative and available for us at every step. We could not have asked for a better experience with a realtor. Thank you Cindy!

by Lee and Ann Davis

Feb 9, 2017

Morgan Stansberry was outstanding. She worked with us for 3 months while we were trying to buy a mountain vacation home. There were a number of unusual obstacles that had to be overcome during this process, but she navigated through them all. She communicated with us just about every day for 3 months. We were afraid we would wear her out! She was always a pleasure. We would highly recommend her!

by Becky Poyner

Feb 4, 2017

Great Experience working with Jerrita would definitely use this company again !!!!! They make dreams come true !

by Leigh Ann Ruehlen

Jan 10, 2017

Both my husband and I were very thankful for the expertise of agent Cindy Wiehrs. She made our buying / selling process so much easier, with her knowledge of Ashe County and her attention to detail. Many thanks for all your effort and professional guidance through the process.

by Matt Fearrington

Dec 15, 2016

Michelle and Mark was wonderful to work with. It took a while to sell our house , but they were proactive and worked hard to get it done. They were responsive to our needs and just easy to work with. I highly recommend them.

by Gene Longo

Nov 22, 2016

Wonderful team to work with. Great patience, always responsive to the many questions asked. I did feel though at times if I didn't ask certain questions whether some valuable facts would have not come up. "You don't know what you don't know...". At the end of the day would highly recommend the team. Jerrita was a pleasure to house hunt with.

by Jeff Krawic

Nov 22, 2016

I do NOT have the language to show my appreciation of the monumental efforts Maxine Lane gave us from day one, until this day today, AFTER the closing, where I am still being helped. We were a difficult set of clients, being 12 hours drive away from the area and if the logistics were not enough, our unusual situation made things more complicated. Maxine literally helped us from a personal side, as well as the highly professional side, going well beyond what would be expected of any agent in a contract. THANK YOU Maxine from the center of our souls to the molecules that make us who we are. We will never forget you or Ashe High Country Realty as long as we live. And thanks so very much for the patience you showed us even in the darkness. Which YOU always brought us back to the light. Every time.

by Jess and Wendy Stokes

Nov 8, 2016

We recently closed on a small home in Boone. Morgan Stansberry helped us in so many ways from setting up all of our inspections to even helping us after the closing with our HOA. Being out of town, it was a relief to have someone more than willing to help and go beyond our expectations. Though we had a small purchase, we were treated as if we had bought the best house in town. We highly recommend Morgan as your next realtor.

by Lisa Bullock

Oct 16, 2016

We worked with Kim Hurley on the purchase of our cabin in Fleetwood and closed in May, 2016. An owner of a cabin in West Jefferson, from whom we previously rented, recommended Kim. We could not have been more pleased with Kim's performance. From the search to the closing, Kim was top notch! Being a West Jefferson native, Kim's knows the area very well and at our request, showed us cabins in both Boone and the West Jefferson area, easily navigating the roads even during our first day of looking despite being surprised by a late spring snow with ice! She presented us cabins in our price range, without pressuring us to go above which was refreshing. We learned that prior to becoming a licensed realtor, Kim worked as a real estate paralegal. Kim's paralegal experience and realtor experience are a winning combination, making her more adept at contract preparation, legal ramifications, and the closing process. She was diligent with negotiations from contract signing, to due diligence, to close. Kim was very responsive during all phases - responding at all times as necessary to keep the deal moving in the right direction. Kim helped us fulfill a dream we've had for over 25 years, and we would highly recommend her to anyone looking to fulfill their dream of owning a cabin in the High Country!

by Wendy Ellis

Oct 2, 2016

Michelle Handler and Jack Apple exceeded our expectations in helping us purchase the vacation home of our dreams. Being several hours away from our hometown, we relied on them to be our advocates and their knowledge of the area was most helpful. Our availability was limited and they accomodated our schedules so graciously. We have bought and sold houses before, but never a vacation property so there were additional steps that needed attention and every detail was addressed in a timely manner. We whole-heartedly recommend them!

by Dave and Valerie Everett

Oct 1, 2016

We first met Mark at a land auction in 2007. We were impressed since Day One! We have used Mark on several occasions for both home and land purchases. Mark knows Ashe County inside and out. He is in the real estate business for the long haul. Mark began his career in real estate rental management for a large golfing community in Ashe County. Mark operated a successful modular home construction business for several years. Currently, Mark is both a licensed real estate Appraiser AND a licensed real estate Broker. All of those business life experiences translates to knowledge. And knowledge always helps to protect you from making a bad decision. We highly recommend Mark, if you are looking to buy or sell .

by Brian and Whitney

Sep 27, 2016

My wife and I recently closed on our first home in a much easier-than-expected process despite making everything happen within a short period of time while working full-time. Jerrita has been helping us since we moved to Ashe Co. and her advice/willingness to accommodate our fluctuating schedules has been invaluable and extremely appreciated. Prior to becoming homeowners, we rented through Ashe High Country Realty and any issues/concerns were always handled in a timely manner, and actually always the next day. Both our renting and buying experiences have been wonderful, so a well-earned 5 star rating from us! Thanks again Jerrita!

by Randy Deal/Lynn Brooks

Sep 6, 2016

Mark was our realtor and went totally out of his way to accomodate us in the whole process. He met us at the location numerous times. Lynn and I had found the house on the internet and rode up to Ashe to just ride by and see what it looked like on the outside. We saw the sign with Mark"s name on it and just called him. Within 30 minutes, we met him at the house and was inside looking at the interior. We would refer anyone and everyone to Mark in the future for sales in Ashe . Thank you Mark

by Jane and Eric Massant

Sep 2, 2016

It didn’t take long after meeting Morgan to know that she was someone who listened and remembered. Taking every little comment into account, she searched and was able to show us properties, all over Ashe County and beyond, that conformed to our specifications. She also adapted quickly as, unfortunately for her, our “ideal” changed over the course of the three months that we were looking. Morgan was always pleasant and worked efficiently and effectively to address our vacation home desires without pressure. Her excellent working relationships with other agents, the Sellers (whom she also represented), and business personnel in the community facilitated positive negotiations, leading to a successful closing two months after our offer. We are in the home of our dreams in Todd and Morgan continues to play an important role in our transition. She has earned our trust, respect, and highest recommendation.

by Ted and Kelli Vance

Aug 22, 2016

We recently purchased a cabin and are very pleased with our experience. Jerrita Roark made the whole process seamless. She was exceedingly patient with us. The search spanned several months and she was never pushy and always went the extra mile. I can't imagine our experience being any better. We both highly recommend Ashe Realty and Jerrita without reservation.

by Wade and MaryAnn Turlington

Aug 19, 2016

"Jerrita Roark and Michelle Handler have handled our real estate needs for the past several years, for our cabin in West Jefferson, NC. My husband and I were unsure if we should rent short term or long term so we turned to Jerrita and Michelle who explained in detail the pros and cons of both., and sharing what their other clients had experienced with rental properties. They were always professional, in their dealings with us and our conversations with them flowed so effortlessly! They made us feel like we had known them for years! Their combined years of experience helped in our decision, to rent long term. Michelle and Jerrita shared their decorating tips asked about making our cabin feel more like "home" by being budget friendly. Their ideas transformed the appearance of our cabin both inside and outside! Thanks ladies! We have just sold our cabin, and Jerrita and Michelle were with us every inch of the way! They expeditiously answered our e-mails and phone calls , and believe me, we had a ton of them . They methodically worked through several new documents we needed for selling our cabin. Once again, acting like true consummate professionals, they took all of these extra steps in stride. My husband and I cannot say enough of positive things about Jerrita and Michelle, but if you are looking for consummate professionals who can rent or sell your house, look no further."

by J.W. & Candice Fussell

Aug 18, 2016

"We could not be any more happier with the experience we had with Jerrita. She listed our property, sold and closed within 30 days. We were impressed with the way she coordinated everything that had to be done in such an expeditious manner. Her professionalism, experience and knowledge of the market sets her apart from most. I highly recommend Jerrita to anyone that needs to buy or sale a home."

by Margaret Hearrell

Aug 12, 2016

From the very beginning, first introduction to Michelle Handler and Mark Bower, my husband and I felt completely comfortable with the team in handling the sale of our home. Michelle and Mark kept us up to date on showings and remarks from the showings, making suggestions where necessary to facilitate the appearance of the property to make it more appealing. Every suggestion paid off! Michelle and Mark were professional while also being extremely understanding and compassionate.with our family needs. Overall, the team of Handler and Bower were phenomenally superior to all previous real estate transactions that my husband and I have had over our lifetimes. We are extremely grateful and feel blessed to have been their clients.

by Eric and Jennifer Daughtry

Aug 8, 2016

We recently sold our house in Ashe County and Kim Hurley was our realtor. She was a pleasure to work with. She was efficient, professional and quick to respond. We highly recommend Kim for your real estate needs!

by Mark A. Weinberger

Aug 4, 2016

Michelle Handler worked with me over the course of four plus years from the first day we were shown the home we now live in. Regardless of a very slow market in our old location, and here in Ashe County she never gave up...which eventually worked in our favor!...Michelle's prowess as a realtor are obvious as her professionalism and knowledge have resulted in a dream come true for my family.

by Philip & Laura Holding

Jul 12, 2016

If you are looking for a home, land, vacation place, or business property in Ashe (and/or adjoining counties), the only agent you need is Kim Hurley. She is extremely knowledgeable, very personable, and is the "total package" as an agent. She listens, asks questions, and focuses on results which match your wants and needs (even if these items change during or as a result of your search). She is friendly and patient and it was clear to us from Day 1 , that her goal was to help us in finding our "forever" home. Her breadth of knowledge in so many areas was beyond helpful and of priceless value. Further, even with all our questions, if she did not know the answer, she knew who to get the answer from. She is a powerhouse and if your ideal property exists in Ashe County, she will help you discover it! Thank you Kim for your constant support and efforts in helping us find the home of our dreams! Kim is a crown jewel in the real estate market and a true asset to have on your team. Get in touch with her today!!!!!

by Scott and Susan Rainville

Jun 30, 2016

Our experience working with Kim Hurley was superb!! We were out-of-town buyers and she absolutely looked out for our desires and best interests. She was very prompt, courteous, professional and fun to work with. She was with us every step of the way from the first day visiting homes to the final closing at the lawyer's office. She was by far the best real estate professional we have worked over many years. In fact, this was actually our ninth purchase over all those years. We would highly recommend Kim Hurley to anyone needing a realtor. She will treat you as if you are the most important person in the world!!

by Wanda H.

May 11, 2016

As an out-of-town property owner, I called on Julie Miller when I decided to list my Ashe County mountain land for sale. Julie was highly recommended by a friend who knew I would need experienced guidance. This friend had been pleased with the real estate services Julie provided and found her to be very conscientious and an artful negotiator. Julie helped me with thoughts on soil testing, septic permits and all aspects for making my property truly ready to list — and thus more appealing to potential buyers. She consistently stayed in contact with phone calls, emails and texts and always replied promptly to my questions. During negotiation, Julie’s knowledgeable advice helped provide a sales price that pleased me. She made such a difference in how smoothly the process went! Within a month from the MLS listing date with Julie, I had an offer and the sale completed in just a few weeks! I highly recommend Julie Miller and Ashe High Country Realty.

by Russell Long

Nov 28, 2015

My wife & I were looking to buy a vacation property/rental in W. Jefferson area. We met Jerrita by renting thru Ashe Country Vacations. She spent the WHOLE week with us, showing us close to 20 homes/cabins. As our "deal" came to be, although it was VERY stressful, Jerrita was VERY Professional thru-out the entire ordeal. I would HIGHLY recommend A.H.C.R., AND would not hesitate to call them again IF our need arises. Thank you Jerrita & Maxine for your time well spent.

by Kathy Kennedy

Sep 14, 2015

We wanted to buy a mountain house, but hadn't pinpointed an exact area yet. I think Morgan took us to every mountain in the state so we could get a feel for our options. She got to know us, and then previewed properties so that we wouldn't waste time seeing any that didn't meet our needs. We bought a house on Sugar Mountain last week and Morgan made the process as easy as it could be: she set up appointments with the home inspector, and then with contractors and other tradespeople to get estimates for repairs the inspector had identified. She helped us renegotiate the price based on needed repairs. She was available 24/7 - which I found out very early one morning when I couldn't sleep and sent her an email, expecting to get an answer in a few hours, but got it within 5 minutes! She wasn't ever pushy, even when it looked like the deal might not go through. When she didn't know the answer to a question, she found out quickly and let us know. I would absolutely recommend her .

by James

Aug 24, 2015

Cindy Wiehrs was our realtor with Ashe High Country Realty and she was fantastic! She listened to our needs and found us the perfect cabin. Although she was a 'dual agent' she was fully transparent and took us through every step in the process. She gets highest marks for being knowledgeable, honest, and committed to making the purchase a pleasant and positive experience. She also has been very responsive to our many questions--not only during the weeks leading up to the closing, but afterwards as well. We feel very fortunate to have had Cindy as our realtor and look forward to her being our neighbor! We give her A++ in every category.

by Jack Page

Aug 24, 2015

I was concerned about having one agent represent me and the seller, but Kim walked the fine line effortlessly and gets the highest marks for her professionalism and ethics. Even though it has been a while since closing, I can still email Kim with a question or referral and I get a quick response with qualified individuals and the best person for the job! Thanks Kim for all you have done for us and making our vacation home a dream come true!

by Judy and Bruce Buchanan

Jul 21, 2015

My husband and I worked with Jerrita for over one year in locating a property to purchase in West Jefferson. Of all the realtors we have worked with over the years, Jerrita is by far the best! Jerrita is so professional , patient and courteous that I refer her to my businesscolleagues and friends who are also searching the area for a property. Jerrita is very knowledgeable about the area and the home buying process. I imagine that we may have been her "pickiest" buyers and not the easiest to work with but she was persistent, patient, knowledgeble, and responsive to our many calls and requests. We are thrilled with our home in West Jefferson and the service that we received from Jerrita. We have also used Jerrita's rental service to rent a home while we were looking and the service was oustanding. I would definitely recommend her for your real estate needs!

by Cheryl Zelesky

Jul 3, 2015

She's one in a million and hand held us through the many details of a move from out of state. Always courteous, friendly and professional. Her knowledge of the real estate market and the area right down to setting up contractor quotes was done with precision and perfect timing. She was always there to answer our questions and saw us through to becoming residents in the town we fell in love with several years ago. I recommend her and her company very highly. Without question you will be happy for choosing them with any of your real estate or vacation rental needs!

by Mike Pspp

Mar 14, 2015

Kim did a wonderful job getting us into our new home. We truly had a great time finding a place and then she went the extra mile keeping us informed throughout the process till closing. We've been through Five home purchase's and Kim made this one the best!

by Al

Feb 4, 2015

Bought Our Home - Couldn't be Happier. Great staff here at Ashe High Country Realty, friendly and professional, got me a good price on my home.

by Dan

Feb 4, 2015

Love this company. My favorite company and for good reason.

Stay on Top of the High Country

Receive featured listings, periodic home buying tips & area updates.

Schedule a Virtual Tour

Our agents will walk you through a home on their mobile device. Enter your details to setup an appointment.